top of page
Dr. Prakash B N

Community Health, Clinical Research and Education

Dr. Prakash B N

Associate Professor

+91 9066177480

Research Interests

Ayurveda, Community health, Local Health Traditions/Folk medicine: Documentation,
Assessment, Clinical studies, Field trials; Public Health issues: Malaria, Diarrhoea,
Anaemia; Tribal health; Ethics committee

Dr. Prakash BN is a researcher who focuses on traditional medicine & community health at Centre for Community Health, Clinical Research and Education. He has an experience of twenty years as a part of developing and implementing community research and outreach programmes at TDU. He works in the area of local health traditions (LHTs) which is an undocumented, orally transmitted traditional knowledge. Documentation, assessment, evaluation and outreach of LHTs for public health issues, with a particular focus on primary health care, malaria, anaemia, diarrhoea are key areas of research. Prakash’s research experience includes one and half year’s research work at INSERM laboratory in Paris, France. He was the head of Personal Certification Body (PrCB) through which the traditional healers are certified through a National scheme on Voluntary Certification of Traditional Community Healthcare Providers. He plays the role of member secretary for the Institutional Ethics Committee of TDU and member of Scientific Advisory Sub Committee.

Program Coordinator

  1. Varmam Therapist Diploma course in collaboration with Varma Kalpa Rejuvenation Center (VKRC), Bangalore 

  2. eLeraning courses in collaboration with Institute of Public Health (IPH), Bangalore: Certificate Course in Research Methods (eRM); eLearning course in Scientific Writing and Reference Management (eSWaRM); eLearning course in Public Health Management (ePHM); Essential Concepts in Financing for Health Systems (eFHS); Good Health Research Practices (eGHRP); 

  3. Prabhashanam program (An Ayurvedic finishing school) in collaboration with S.N. Pandit Ayurvedic Company Private Limited, Bangalore

Other Positions Held

  1. Member Secretary: Institute Ethics Committee (IEC), TDU

  2. Member: Scientific Advisory Sub Committee (SASC), TDU

bottom of page